Faux Gingerbread Houses

IMG_0629.JPG
The third of my Twelve Crafts for Christmas are fun faux gingerbread houses constructed with Graham Crackers.

IMG_0812.JPG

Gingerbread houses are a super fun Christmas tradition; a fairly recent tradition for us. So fun because you can customize however you want!

Three years ago on a whim, I picked up a kit that included gingerbread, icing, and candy for four little houses. Perfect for a fun family evening; my husband, both girls and I each decorated a gingerbread house. Although the houses were very small, they all turned out great. Now we’re hooked!

In 2013 (year two of our tradition), I saw several Pins (yeah Pinterest!) showing gingerbread houses made using Graham Crackers – GENIUS!!! Here’s a picture of our houses in 2013.

IMG_0813.JPG
Although I can’t claim the idea as my own, I did put my own stamp on it. Instead of royal icing, I use Tacky Glue to build the houses. We don’t eat our houses – we think that would be gross after sitting out for so many weeks – just our personal preference. (Since we put so much time and energy into personalizing our houses we display them all through the Holiday season.)

Here’s some shots of the construction process (this took me several days – mostly because I didn’t ‘t have a whole afternoon).
IMG_0809.JPG
To make the graham crackers easier to cut, I wet my fingers, rubbed them on the cracker, microwaved for 10-15 seconds then used a sharp knife.

IMG_0810.JPG

IMG_0811.JPG
Here’s our 2014 houses – we kicked it up a notch this year. It’s hard to tell in the pictures but the houses are much larger this year. Next year I’m giving everyone a box of Graham Crackers so they can construct their own.

IMG_0812.JPG

Lance’s house – the girls & I are extremely impressed!!

IMG_0814.JPG
Tammy’s

IMG_0817.JPG
Ashton’s

IMG_0816.JPG
Peyton’s
IMG_0815.JPG
Have fun making your own! I can’t wait for next year!!

IMG_0744.JPG

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

