Toy To Tray

20130423-105732.jpg

Check out this classy tray. This is probably one of my favorite transformations ever! In her former life, she was a baby doll changing table:

Former Life:

SFC - changing table

New life:

20130423-105607.jpg

Can you believe it?

My girls had the whole set for their dolls, the changing table, crib and high chair. They were well used toys and favorites for many years. The changing table broke some time back, and since I like to keep junk useful stuff around until inspirations strikes, it’s been tucked away in a corner.

Here’s some of the pieces…

20130515-110535.jpg

20130515-110550.jpg

I didn’t get many pictures of the process, but I’ll do my best to tell you how I did it:

1. The legs broke off from the top of the changing table, leaving holes where it had been screwed in. I used drywall joint compound to fill the holes, then sanded both sides smooth.

2. I wanted to have a chip paint finish, so I painted some of the edges with black acrylic paint, then spread Vaseline in some places. Check out this post for more information about creating a chip paint look with Vaseline.

3. I sprayed several coats of Rust-Oleum Painters Touch Ultra Cover 2x in Heirloom White Satin finish.

4. Once I was satisfied with the finish, I used sandpaper to remove the paint to create a distressed look. The paint comes right off where Vaseline was spread.

5. The finish wasn’t quite what I envisioned so I decided to experiment. I had some Rust-Oleum Dark Walnut Wood Stain in my cabinet, so I brushed on and wiped off until I had a look that I liked. That was still tacky the next day (we were having some muggy/humid weather), so I moved on to another project and let that sit for several days.

6. To create the patch-work effect on the tray, I cut several different pieces of scrapbook paper in various sizes and moved them around until I liked the look. Using Mod Podge, I decoupaged the paper to the tray. I left them on the tray in my pattern (so I wouldn’t forget how I wanted them), and just moved them aside to spread Mod-Podge.

20130423-110335.jpg
I think the best way to avoid air bubbles is to Mod Podge the paper to the surface first, flattening with something like a credit card as you go – you will still see air bubbles, but they should go away as it dries. Once you’ve given that a little time to dry, sparingly brush Mod Podge over the top of the scrapbook paper (again, it might appear to bubble, but should go away as it dries). If you end up with a bubbles after it dries, you can usually stick those down by carefully scraping (with a fingernail or a credit card) again.

7. I wanted to seal the top but didn’t want a shiny surface, so I sprayed many layers of Minwax Polycrylic in satin finish (I probably sprayed 10 layers over several days).

8. Every tray needs handles, so I picked out some that I thought complimented the finish and attached.

20130423-110221.jpg
At this point, I still wouldn’t want to let anything wet sit on it, but it would make a fabulous coffee table tray.

What kind of sealer do you use over decoupaged items? I use the spray (because I’m lazy like that). Does the kind you brush on work better?

Thanks for visiting.

Click here to check out some of the fabulous linky parties I may join.

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Upcycled & Recycled and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

