Thrift Store Finds

Last weekend, my good friend, Nicki wanted to go on a road trip to do some shopping for the new home & separate office/kitchen they are building. Not just any kind of shopping but antique/thrift store shopping YAY!! Um yes, I’m surely not missing out on that. We took our 10-year-old daughters and headed for a little town called Washington, Louisiana, specifically to visit The Old School House Antique Mall. If you’re from the area (or are ever in the area), this place is worth the visit! The building is COLD this time of year, so bundle up. The entire school is full of various antique and thrift store venders. That’s right THE ENTIRE SCHOOL, every nook and cranny, including classrooms, under the stairs, the gym, the stage, back stage, etc. There’s even a little café (that has delicious hot chocolate and brownies).
The Old Schoolhouse Antique Mall

20130123-221014.jpg
We spent several hours browsing. I don’t think our girls were expecting that kind of shopping but they enjoyed themselves too. My favorite part was seeing (and giggling about) the toys/dishes/furniture, etc. that Nicki & I remembered from our childhood. Hard to believe we’re looking at all that stuff in an antique mall – now our girls really think we’re old.

I’ve mentioned Nicki before; she’s my friend with the flair for decorating (and fashion); she’s our go-to girl for party decorations, paint colors, home décor, what to wear, etc. She’s decorating her office/outdoor kitchen in an old rustic look. She found a fantastic towel hook for the bathroom that’s made from antique facets welded onto a bar, and two perfectly distressed chairs (with missing seats). I get to help her put the seats on the chairs (YEAH). I’ll post the chair make-over, and pictures of her office/kitchen (and the towel hook) in the future, I’m sure it will be FABULOUS.

My finds weren’t as exciting. I was hoping to find something (anything) that I could transform – I did. Check these babies out! They are actually hideous (I apologize if you have some); I think I may have offended the shop owner when she was pointing out the “pretty dark wood and beautiful inlaid plaques” and I told her the plaques would be the first to go. I’ve thought of at least 10 different transformations. They will definitely NOT be a set of kitchen canisters, but some stylin’ boxes if I ever get around to transforming them when I’m through with them. I also found a new cabinet door that was missing a panel – lots of different ideas for that swimming in my mind too – I may build a cabinet for my craft room and keep the door in tact. Someday….. in the future…… I’ll post my transformations.

My super stylish (once upon a time) kitchen canisters

20130123-154941.jpg

My peek-a-boo cabinet door

20130123-220658.jpg
On the way back we stopped at a flea market outside Lafayette called Jockey Lot. That was more the girls’ style, their ‘fabulous finds’ included Duck Tape Wallets – to me that’s kind of like being issued a challenge; I had an “I’m going to make that” moment – so I did. I’d have posted my copy-cat wallets but I ran out of Duck Tape. LOL Stay tuned….

Here’s the wallet Pey bought. I didn’t get the name of the lady that made the wallets to give her credit, but the girls love them.

20130123-222356.jpg

20130123-222247.jpg

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

