Rustic Wood Boxes Made with Reclaimed Wood

20121210-102644.jpg

I absolutely love these wooden boxes. They are so versatile and they look great with any décor. My favorite part about them is that they are made with reclaimed fence pickets; they have that lovely weathered look – and I didn’t have to do anything special to achieve it.

I’ve made these before and didn’t keep any for myself. I’ve been waiting for the right moment (or spare time) to make more. I didn’t come up with spare time, but I’m working on Christmas presents, and I wanted some of these to use as gift baskets so I made the time. I even added a few to my Etsy store.

Here’s what they looked like before.

20121210-102741.jpg

I decided on a good length, measured, and used my miter saw to cut the pickets. I assembled by gluing the edges and using a finish nail gun to hold it all together; they are very sturdy. I usually do a drop test by accidentally knocking at least one of my items off my work surface onto the floor, my box held together just fine (but I wouldn’t recommend dropping them). That’s why I hardly ever just glue my projects.

20121210-102850.jpg

20121210-102859.jpg
Look at my fancy nails LOL. I got them done for a weekend with my best girl friends in New Orleans, and liked having pretty hands so much, I just had them filled again. They are solar nails, and I have to rave about them because I’m HARD on my fingernails, and these have stood up to glue, spray paint, being sanded, cleaning products, being used as a scraper for dishes, etc. and still look pretty good.

Here’s the after picture. I have cabinet pulls to attach to the sides as handles, but didn’t have time for that part; I really like them just the way they are.

20121210-103033.jpg

20121210-103043.jpg

20121210-103054.jpg

20121210-104739.jpg

20121210-103114.jpg
Again, my favorite part of the project is repurposing!! Fence pickets are one of my favorites, gotta love the naturally weathered look. Check out the lemonade stand I made for my girls out of fence pickets. I have a lot of pickets left; please tell me about any other project ideas you have for pickets.

I scored a broken twin sleigh bed with trundle from my friend Dana. It has lots of great wood and my imagination is running wild…can’t wait to turn that bed into many other great things.

And, check this out. I picked a few of these wood shutters up from the side of the road (I only had room for 3; wish I could have fit them all). I’m working on repurposing one of these; STAY TUNED to see how it turns out…

20121210-103209.jpg

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Home Decor, Storage & Organization, Uncategorized, Upcycled & Recycled. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

