2 x 6 Pumpkins

20120927-102735.jpg

Doesn’t this cute pumpkin just scream FALL? I love it. I wish I could claim the idea as my own (but it’s not), and I can’t give credit to anyone in particular since I’ve seen SO MANY variations pinned on Pinterest. Regardless, it’s a great idea; the first time I saw it, I knew I’d make one someday.

As I was planning monthly Girl Scout meetings through December, this came to mind as a great Halloween craft for the girls. I like to plan crafts that will last!! For the Holidays I love getting out and displaying the fun things that my kids have made through the years.

Most of the wooden pumpkins I’ve seen on Pinterest were made with 2 x 4’s, but I decided to use 2 x 6’s so the Girls would have a larger surface to decorate.

Here’s the process

Materials

  • 2 x 6 x 8
  • Square dowel ¾” x 36”
  • Sand paper & sander
  • Wood glue
  • Finish nail gun & nails
  • Paint & other embellishments

Cut the wood for the pumpkins to the desired length. I used 2 x 6 x 8’s and cut into 18 pieces (17 at 5 inches and 1 at 6 inches).

 

Cut the square dowel for the stems to the desired length. The stems I made for these are about 1 inch. You can really use your imagination here; I’ve seen them made with round dowels or pieces of branches. Since I was making these in bulk, I did what was easy!!

20120927-102852.jpg

Sand all the cut edges of the pumpkins and stems. I rounded them all with my palm sander (I put Peyton to work sanding a few).

 

Attach the stem. I used my finish nail gun to nail the stems to the pumpkins. Normally I would have glued and nailed, but my wood glue disappeared. After I nailed them all, my helper (Ashton) and I used spakling to fill-in all the nail holes. Then, since we’d filled the nail holes, I sanded all the stems again.

20120927-102955.jpg

20120927-103107.jpg

20120927-103151.jpg

Here’s the pumpkins ready to paint…(did I mention that we have 26 Girls in our Troop?)

20120927-103253.jpg

Here’s the pumpkins the Girl Scouts made.  Aren’t they cute? We had to get pictures from both the front & back since most Girls made their pumpkins reversible…

20120927-103857.jpg

20120927-103945.jpg

20120927-102735.jpg

Mine is kind of plain compared with the creativity of the girls…  The leaves attached with rafia, were left over from flower stems I disassembled to make hair clips (all the things I save eventually come in handy).

Hope you enjoy!

Here are some of the posts that I got my inspiration from…

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2 x 6 Pumpkins

  1. Pingback: The Easiest And Fastest Way To Plant Your Seeds | Global Garden Friends, Inc.

Leave a Reply

