Coverall Storage

I know the title sounds a little weird. My husband wears coveralls to work. I CAN’T STAND folding them. There really is not a good way to get it done (not one I can figure out), and Lance’s closet is just not set up to hang the coveralls on hangers.

20120814-192906.jpg

Folding my laundry is one thing I’m pretty meticulous about. I’ve been folding the coveralls and putting them on a shelf in his closet for years, which drives me crazy because they get so wrinkled. I usually do a load of laundry every day so I can drape one pair over his closet door so they won’t wrinkle (and I don’t have to fold them – slick huh?).

20120817-144735.jpg

Preparation for school each year triggers an organization frenzy for me. Not only do I have to get all of the school supplies in order, but I’m compelled to clean and organize.

The weekend before school started, I organized my closet (still need to go through the clothes), and I had to wash several loads of laundry I’d fallen behind on (which meant 4 pair of coveralls to fold). Fed up with those pesky coveralls, I actually contemplated making room in my closet so they could hang on hangers. Then I stepped back into Lance’s closet determined to find a solution.

Here it is…

20120817-142511.jpg

The best thing about it is that I had everything I needed right here (for one anyway – I need two more hooks to make one for the other door to avoid over-crowding).

Those of you who have fancy maple or oak shelves and drawers in your closets, may wrinkle your noses that I didn’t even bother to stain or paint the wood, but since Lance and I are the only people who will see it, I’m not concerned with how it looks. Now if I were making this for my entry closet, it would be a little fancier.

Here are the details:

I found a 1 x 3 board in my wood stash that I cut to the appropriate length using my miter saw.

20120817-143224.jpg

I raided my hardware bucket and found these small hooks (that I bought at Walmart a while back for cheap).

20120817-143625.jpg

I measured and marked where I would put the hooks, and screws to hang on the door, then pre-drilled the holes.

20120817-144458.jpg

I attached the hooks to the board…

20120817-144008.jpg

…and screwed the board to the closet door (using 1 1/2 inch wood screws).

Voila!!

20120817-144052.jpg

20120817-144113.jpg

20120817-144135.jpg

No more folding coveralls for me – YAY!!

Thanks for visiting!
Tammy

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Storage & Organization and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

