4th of July Table Decor

20120702-090818.jpg

Check out my 4th of July table decor. What do you think?

20120702-094646.jpg

I don’t think I’ve ever decorated for the 4th of July before. I’m not sure why; I just haven’t. I wouldn’t have this year, but I’ve been itching to make this table runner out of screen door moulding. I saw the idea at Lowe’s Creative Ideas – if you haven’t visited there, you should!!

20120702-094535.jpg

Do you like my little patriotic table runner? I was originally planning to stain the wood dark, but for some reason when I went to purchase the wood, red, white and blue flashed through my mind (could have been the American Flags in the store).

Of course, you can’t have a table runner without something to put on it. Right? So I put together a few other decorations for my table. Since I had everything but the wood on-hand, my 4th of July table decorations cost me about $12.

Here’s how I put it all together:

Table Runner

I bought 4 pieces of Stain Grade Pine Screen Moulding (¼” x ¾” x 8-ft) from Lowe’s for $2.80 each.

I painted 3 pieces of the moulding; one red, one white, and one blue (I had some excellent help with this).

When I finished painting and started calculating for my cuts, I realized that my guess about the dimension had been off (I seldom follow directions) – and I’d need all four pieces that I’d purchased. After calculating and re-calculating, I cut each piece of moulding(all 4) into 7, 13” pieces (there was a little unused piece from each piece of moulding left). Then, I painted all the unfinished pieces and ends.

Once the paint dried, I laid out my pattern, cut natural jute to 4 times the length of the table runner (as it was laid out), and started tying. Again, I didn’t follow the directions; mine was modified slightly. I doubled the jute I’d cut, attached it to the end piece, and tied between each subsequent slat. At the other end, I tied it off so it looked good. Then I repeated on the other side. I did have to work the jute on the slats a little to keep it all even.

20120702-094629.jpg

Decorative Balls

I had styrofoam balls, scraps of fabric, and jute; I covered each ball a little different.

20120702-120706.jpg

20120702-094755.jpg

Glass Plates Stand

I needed a display for the cute balls, so I glued a dinner and salad plate to a glass candle holder with E-6000 glue. I LOVE that stuff!!

20120702-094755.jpg

20120702-120838.jpg

Yarn Wrapped Star

This was a giant cookie/cake cutter from The Pampered Chef that I wrapped in yarn.

20120702-120949.jpg

Fabric Pom Poms

I made several Jute-Wrapped Bottles jars back in January for a display in my dining room. I used one of those to stand my fabric pom poms.

To make the pom poms, I cut fabric into pieces about 4″ x 3″. I cut strips the long way, about 1/2″ wide, leaving about 1/2″ at the top uncut. Then I glued the pieces onto a wooden dowel. I think these are SO CUTE.

20120702-121811.jpg

20120702-121510.jpg

20120702-094732.jpg

Painting

Finally, the painting was an after-thought because I thought my table decor needed something else.

20120702-121440.jpg

20120702-122607.jpg

My decor is not too elaborate this year, but I’m already thinking ahead to what I can add to my 4th of July decor for next year (wreath, bunting, candle sticks). I’ll probably put this out again for Labor Day.

What do you think I should add? I’d love for you to share comments or links to your pictures and tutorials to give me more ideas.

Tammy

20120702-122646.jpg

20120702-094732.jpg

20120702-122714.jpg

Click here to see the great Linky Parties I may join:

Sunday Showcase @ Under the Table and Dreaming

Tip Junkie handmade projects

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Home Decor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4th of July Table Decor

  1. onelmon says:

    Though I don’t celebrate 4th of July, I love how you painted the table runner according to the flag colors, it’s an absolutely great idea. Love your little stripes ball as well. Thanks for sharing this =)

  2. Kathy says:

    These crafts are fantastic! I am quite impressed! I hope you have a blessed week,
    Kathy

  3. A wonderfully creative patriotic display! I especially love the pompoms and the handpainted table runner!

Leave a Reply

