Tension Rod – Tam’s Tuesday Tip

20120626-220313.jpg
Check out this great storage idea; a tension rod under the sink for spray bottle storage.

20120626-220325.jpg

I love tension rods (the kind you hang shower curtains from). I have extra and I always find a use for them.

I saw this idea on Pinterest some time back. Apparently I didn’t Pin it because I can’t find it now to give credit where due. I wish I could claim the idea was mine (because it’s great)!

Our garbage disposal died a few months back which meant cleaning out under the sink so Lance could install a new disposal. UHG!! Of course, this clever idea came to mind (I’d been meaning to get under that sink and organize to give it a try). It works GREAT!! I wish I had a before picture (OK – maybe I don’t), hanging the spray bottles makes so much extra storage.

20120626-220915.jpg

I put my tension rod high enough that I could set other supplies under the bottles, which means I have to bend down (low) to retrieve the spray bottles, but you could always put the bar lower to save your back.

I have a small laundry room so I use a tension rod stretched across an alcove in front of some cabinets to hang clothes as I’m folding or to dry. My laundry room is on my list for a face lift. It’s kind of sterile (very WHITE), and it’s a catch all for things that don’t have another place.

20120626-222317.jpg

20120626-222326.jpg

I also use a tension rod in the door frame of my craft room closet as a temporary hanger for just about anything. It comes in handy for crafts that need to hang as they’re being made (braiding).

20120626-222418.jpg

What clever ideas do you have for a tension rod?

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Tam's Tuesday Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tension Rod – Tam’s Tuesday Tip

  1. Nicki says:

    Good stuff!!!

  2. Gimbler says:

    I love tension rods too! I have one tucked into the space between the seat and backrest of the loveseat to keep the slipcover tight no matter how my husband and dogs choose to wallow around on it. I have another one hanging outside my back door with a screen that I sewed a weighted hem onto. It works kinda like that “Magic Screen” they sell on TV. I used to hate our banging, unattractive, obtrusive storm door and letting the dogs in and out, in and out, in and out… so I threw it away and use this all summer. Keeps the bugs out and lets the dogs go in and out freely.

Leave a Reply

