Decoupage Earrings

20120625-141112.jpg

I’m so excited about these earrings because I was able to use some more garbage, YAY!!

I don’t throw away much, especially if I think I may be able to use it in the future. I’ve been working on cleaning out my craft room and ran across a stash of small scraps of scrapbook paper. I use scrapbook paper for just about anything including scrapbooks (well I used to use it for scrapbooks – I’m a few years behind); I love that there are SO MANY patterns to choose from.

I nearly decided to throw out the scraps but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Then BAM, an idea hit me. I had some little rectangular pieces of unfinished wood that I purchased at Hobby Lobby a long time ago (I don’t remember why), and Mod Podge (of course). I decided to make my own earrings! Soooooo, my little stash of garbage scraps went from this:

20120625-141248.jpg

To this:

20120625-141522.jpg

I make jewelry in my spare time (PAHAHA). OK, before my kids started school and so many extracurricular activities, I used to make a lot of jewelry, now I do it when either I need (or someone requests) jewelry to match an outfit or for a specific occasion. So, I have jewelry making tools and findings on hand and this project cost me nothing, zero, zip, zilch!!

Here’s what I did:

I painted the little pieces of wood with acrylic paint to coordinate with the scrapbook paper, and let that dry (hard for me I’m impatient).

20120625-141628.jpg

20120625-141637.jpg

Cut the scrapbook paper to the desired size; I like mine to be a little smaller than the piece of wood so the painted edge kind of frames the paper.

20120625-141744.jpg

Spread a thin layer of Mod Podge on the wood, center paper and smooth our any bubbles, then let dry (la tee da).

Spread Mod Podge over the paper, let dry and repeat then spread Mod Podge on the back side of the wood.

I seal just about anything I decoupage with a few layers of varnish.

20120625-141907.jpg

Once dry, I drilled small holes centered at the top of each to put a jump ring through.

I placed a fish wire earring hook on a jump ring, stuck it through the drilled hole and TA DA – I have some new earrings.

20120625-142031.jpg

20120625-142052.jpg

20120625-142113.jpg

20120625-142133.jpg

How fun is this? With all the patterns of scrapbook paper, I can make earrings to match ANY outfit and for ANY occasion (and you can get the little wood pieces in squares, circles and I think I’ve seen triangles).

I think I’m going to try to glitter some next….

You can purchase decoupage earrings at my Etsy store here.

Please let me know what you think, and if you like it, share it.

Tammy

I may link up to these great Link Parties:

Not Baaaad Sundays @ Lamb around , Sunday Showcase @ Under the Table & Dreaming, Sundae Scoop @ I Heart Naptime, Think Pink Sundays @ Flamingo Toes, Sunday Linky Party @ Petite Hermine , DIY Project Parade @ The DIY Show Off, Sew Darn Crafty @ Sew Many Ways, Sister Sunday – Sisters of the Wild West, Sunday FUNday @ The Foley Fam , Made By Little Hands @ delicateConstruction , Monday Meet Up @ Covered by Grace, Thrifters Anonymous @ Colorblind , Motivate Me Monday @ Keeping It Simple, Making Monday Marvelous @ C.R.A.F.T., Market Yourself Monday @ Sumo’s Sweet Stuff , Craft-O-Manic Monday @ Craft-O-Maniac , Making the World Cuter @ I Made the World Cuter , Made By You Mondays @ Skip To My Lou, Metamorphosis Monday @ Between Naps on the Porch , Mad Skills @ Mad in Crafts, Marvelous Mess Monday @ Marvelously Messy , Craftastic Mondays (projects kids can do) @ Sew Can Do, Inspire Me Monday @ Singing Three Little Birds , Mom It Monday @ Brassy Apple, Top Ten @ Mom2MemphisandRuby, Dream to Reality @ The DIY Dreamer , Tell Me Tuesday @ Me and My Boys , Talent Tuesdays @ Vintage WannaBee , Handmade Tuesday @ Ladybug Blessings , Tip Me Tuesday @ Tip Junkie , Tuesday Confessionals @ Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom , Toddler Tuesdays (toddler projects) @ Willow Bean Studio, A Little Birdie Told Me @ Rook No. 17, Show Me What You Got @ Not JUST A Housewife , Take-A-Look Tuesday @ Sugar Bee , Inspiringly Creative@ dragon fly designs, Its Sew Fun Tuesday @ Its Sew for You , Fundy Polkadot Giraffe @ Too Cute Tuesday , Pink Hippo Party @ Pinkapotamus , Tutorial Tuesday @ Hope Studios, Nifty Thrifty Tuesday @ Coastal Charm, Tips & Tricks Tuesday @ Stringtown Home, Tabletop Tuesday @ A Stroll Through Life, Terrific Tuesdays @ Adventures of a DIY Mom, Swing into Spring @ DIY By Design, Work on You Wednesday @ Our DIY Diaries , Spicy Link Up @ It’s Just Called Spicy,Whatever Whenever Wednesday @ Rolled Up Pretty , What I Whipped Up @ Sugar and Dots, What I Love Wednesday @ Lollipops, Share Your Style @ Rae Gun Ramblings , The Creative Spark @ Clean & Scentsible, Show and tell Wednesday@ Blue cricket design, wow me wednesday @ polkadots on parade, Penny Pinching Party @ Thrifty Home, wow me wednesday @ ginger snap crafts, Whatever Goes Wednesdays @ Someday Crafts , Creative Share Wednesday @ Trendy Treehouse, Sugar And Spice (Girl Themed Entries) @733 Blog, Show Off Your Stuff @ Fireflies and Jellybeans, We Did It Wednesday @Sew much ado, Linkin’ with Luna @ Lil’ Luna, Your whims wednesday@my girlish whims, Creative Juice @ Momnivore’s Dilemma , Wow us Wednesdays @ Savvy Southern Style, Primp Your Stuff Wednesday @ Primp, Wicked Awesome Wednesday @ Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Wildly Original Round Up @ I Gotta Create, Wednesday Adorned From Above Blog Hop Party @ Adorned from Above, Crafty Sasse Wednesday @ The Sasse Life, Link Party @ The Crafted Sparrow , Strut Your Stuff Thursday @ Somewhat Simple, Frogs & Snails (Boy Themed Entries) @ 733 Blog, Hookin’ Up @ House of Hepworths , A Crafty Soiree @ Yesterday on Tuesday, Making It with Allie @ What Allie’s making Now , Catch A Glimpse Thursday @ A Glimpse Inside , Transformation Thursday @ The Shabby Chic Cottage , It’s a Keeper Thursday @ It’s a Keeper , T.G.I.F. @ Craft Junkie Too, Things I’ve Done @ Bear Rabbit Bear , Time Travel Thursday @ The Bramble Berry Cottage, Delightfully Inspiring Thursday Party @ Delightful Order, Thursday Favorite Things Bloghop @ Katherine’s Corner, The 36th Avenue Party Time @ The 36th Avenue, Live Laugh Linky Thursday @ Live Laugh Rowe, Catch as Catch Can @ My Repurposed Life, Friday Favs @ Naptime Crafters , Link Party @ The Crafted Sparrow, Simply Link Party @ Simply Designing , For the Kids Friday (kid projects) @ Sun Scholars , Fancy this Friday @ Truly Lovely , Frugalicious Friday @ Finding Fabulous, Friday Favs@ naptime crafters, Friday Flair @ WhipperBerry, Whatcha Got Weekend @ Lolly Jane, Frugal Friday @ The Shabby Nest , Home and Family Friday @ Home Is Where My Story Begins, Pity Party @ Thirty Handmade Days , Simply Link Party @ Simply Designing , Lovely Crafty Weekend @ Lovely Crafty Home, Friday Free for All @ Young and Crafty, Flaunt it Friday @ Chic on a Shoestring Decorating , Weekend Wander @ While He Was Napping , Simply Creations Friday Link Party @ Simple Home Life , Friday Favorites @ Simply Sweet Home, Inspiration Friday @ At The Picket Fence , Weekend Wrap-Up @ Tatertots and Jello, Feature @ Sassy Sites, Bloom Parties Paper @ Bloom Designs, Kitchen Fun & Crafty Friday @ Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons, Fabulous Fridays @ Here Comes the Sun, Meet Me at Happy Hour @ Happy Hour Projects, Link up with me, Liz Marie Fridays @ Liz Marie Blog, Feature Friday Free For All @ 5 Days 5 Ways, Time for a Party @ Fine Craft Guild, Create Sunshine Linky Party @ Little Inspiration, Show and Tell Saturday @ Be Different…Act Normal , Steppin out Saturday @ Harpers Happenings , Saturday Spotlight @ Craft Envy, party Mindie style@ bacon time with the hungry hypo, Saturday Nite Special (Multiple Parties) @ Funky Junk , Summer Lovin’ Saturday Soiree @ Homemaker in Heels, Check Me Out Saturday @ A Vision To Remember, Creative, Craft, and Inspire @ Polkadot Pretties , Strut Your Stuff Saturdays @ Six Sisters’ Stuff, Get School Saturday @ Too Much Time, Sweet Saturday @ The Gingerbread Blog

metamorphosis Monday @ Between Naps on the Porck

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Un-junked, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Decoupage Earrings

  1. thebeadden says:

    Neat! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Decoupage Earrings | | | decoupagedecoupage

  3. Taneesha says:

    What a funky idea! God knows I have tonns of scrap book paper. The girls in my family have just started getting together for a craft day once a month and I think I’ll have to be adding this to my increasing list of projects!

  4. Pingback: po egzaminach czas na decoupage « mixum fixum

  5. Tammy says:

    These are cute! The possibilities are endless. I think I have a bag of mixed wood shapes, (and like you, I have no idea why I have them!). It’s one of those things that I pick up occasionally and think, “what can I do with these?”, then shrug my shoulders and put the bag back in my stash. Thanks for the inspiration! Perhaps I’ll peruse the scrap book paper isle the next time I’m at the craft store. Hope you’re having a great week so far! 🙂

  6. busymomhelp says:

    Reblogged this on DIY crafts, decoupage, cleaning tips, easy recipes and commented:
    It’s a great way to upcycling and decorate things.

  7. Jenilyn says:

    Those are seriously cute! I would love for you to link those up to {I Made This} at Grits & Giggles! http://www.gritsandgiggles.blogspot.com/2012/06/i-made-this-11.html

  8. These are really cute and easy to make although I’ve never used Modge Podge (heard loads about it!). Wonder if I can get it in Singapore? Need to find the wood too, oh well … another trip to the craft stores! Cath

  9. Rachel says:

    What a great idea! I love free projects. Thanks for sharing at Terrific Tuesdays.

  10. Christina at I Gotta Create! says:

    Great idea. And great price too 😉 They look very fashionable. Thanks so much for linking up at I Gotta Create! ❤ Christina

  11. Great Idea! I love how these turned out – super cute 🙂

  12. You’re a STAR today over at I Gotta Create! Love these groovy earrings! Thanks so much for linking up.

    ❤ Christina
    http://igottacreate.blogspot.com/2012/07/wildly-original-round-up-party-features.html

  13. These are really cute! I like how you cut the scrapbook pape a little smaller then the wood. I usually cut mine the same size, but next time I will cut it smaller (-;

    I just discovered Modge Podge not long ago, and I can see I am going to love it. Thanks for sharing your wonderful project. Pinning and sharing.

  14. These look Amazing! I just love how easily you can change the earrings with different papers.. the possibilites are endless! thanks so much for sharing with the Pink Hippo Party.. hope you join in the fun at the under 300 followers blog hop @ http://pinkapotamus.blogspot.com/2012/07/under-300-followers-blog-hop-9.html
    xoxo
    Amie @ Pinkapotamus

  15. I love this project and am thrilled to b e featuring it on this week’s “A Little Birdie Told Me…” at Rook No. 17!

    Jenn

  16. The Sisters says:

    Way cute! Love those cheetah print ones! Thanks for linking up to “Strut Your Stuff Saturday!” Hopefully we’ll see you tomorrow at 8pm MDT for this week’s party! 🙂 -The Sisters

  17. Oh How fun!!! Love this.. thanks for the inspiration!

  18. Cool project! Fun, and simple too. Thanks for sharing it.

  19. Geri Johnson says:

    These earrings are really cute! This is one of those great “Duh! Why didn’t I think of that!” ideas that I am going to have to try. And there are so many beautiful papers to use the possibilities are endless! I’m pinning this now!

  20. Juli says:

    What do you use to make the holes so small? I made some of these earlier then got to wondering how best to do the holes. I searched it and found this post. 🙂

  21. Bonnie Floran says:

    What do you drill the holes with?

Leave a Reply

