Ballet Bun – the Easiest Ever

20120612-170928.jpg
This ballet bun takes just a few minutes, and is SO EASY!! And, this post is a little different from my usual posts. 

The first year my oldest daughter danced (8 years ago) she had VERY fine hair (and not much of it). When her dance teacher told the class she wanted the dancer’s hair in a ballet bun, I literally laughed out loud.

Thank heavens for experience! One of the mothers who had been there, done that, shared a secret that had been passed on to her… and now I’m happy to pass it on. This method has served us well over the years, especially when the hair has to make a quick transition. It works well with almost any hair type. I have one daughter with very fine (and not very thick) mid-length hair, and one with very long hair (and a lot more of it).

Here’s what you need:

    • Child’s sock (yes, really!)
    • 2 pony tail holders
    • Bobby pins
    • Other embellishments as desired.

This is how it’s done:

Make a donut out of the sock by cutting the toe off and rolling the sock from the toe-end. A lonely or outgrown sock is great – since my girls only wear no-show, I bought a pack (I had some to share at recital).

20120612-163443.jpg
Pull the hair back into a pony tail (“pony” as we call it) in the desired location on the head.

20120612-163843.jpg

20120612-163857.jpg
Slip the sock donut over the pony.

20120612-164009.jpg
Have your child put her head down and smooth the hair over the sock donut (so the donut doesn’t show). When the hair is thin and/or fine, I tease the hair before smoothing it over the donut for better coverage.

20120612-164110.jpg

20120612-164124.jpg
Place the second pony holder around the donut.

20120612-164229.jpg

20120612-164242.jpg
Pick out a small section of hair sticking out around the donut and begin twisting and pinning the hair until you have all of the hair twisted and pinned (I make about six twists).

20120612-164545.jpg
VOILA!! The prettiest, easiest and quickest ballet bun ever.

20120612-171033.jpg

 20120612-164725.jpg

20120612-164740.jpg

20120612-164755.jpg

20120612-164810.jpg

20120612-164827.jpg
Last, add any desired embellishments (feathers, jewels, etc.).

Happy hair styles!

Tammy

If you love this, please pin it.

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ballet Bun – the Easiest Ever

  1. oh my goodness this is awesome! I hope you will share this wonderful trick at the hop today xo

  2. JoAnn says:

    My daughter and DIL will really like this ease of this little trick!

  3. Alex says:

    This is pretty and awesome .i am going to try it myself.

Leave a Reply

