Digging into my bottle stash.

It looks like I successfully posted my first blog Tuesday. Although I may be the only reader, I have to start somewhere. At this point, it’s very much about the learning curve!!

As a former Girl Scout and a current Girl Scout troop leader, I’m very active in recycling and reusing (much to my tolerant husbands chagrin), which means I keep A LOT of stuff around to “use for something later.” I even have friends save things for me (thanks Dana for the discarded wire flower stems and the wine bottles). I know my husband and some of my friends think I’m crazy! I love their surprised reactions when I show them something I made using that “junk.”

I love glass bottles and jars, and that’s one of those things I keep to “use for something later.” I’ve seen several projects lately involving glass jars and bottles at BHG.com and posted on Pinterest. So I pulled out some of my saved bottles and a roll of natural Jute I had on hand, and got to work on my own project. Here are my finished, repurposed bottles that I’ll proudly display in my house.

Upcycled bottles wrapped in natural jute.

Many years ago (probably 18+), I wrapped a lamp base in rope to match my southwest decor. I ditched the lamp (and southwest decor) long ago, but this project reminded me of those early crafting days. Back then, I would not have considered myself very crafty, the lamp was one of the few projects I attempted in my early 20s (oops, I may be leaving too many clues about my age). My creativity was awakened with motherhood and has since become a full-blown addiction.

Check out the instructions for these Jute-Wrapped Bottles in the Upcycled & Recycled section of my blog.

Happy crafting!

Tammy

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

