Pine Cone Ornaments

20131201-182150.jpg

Today is the first of twelve, cute, low-cost, and green Christmas crafts I’m sharing with you this season. Follow my blog to have future posts delivered directly to your email.

We put up three Christmas Trees (plus my kids put one in their rooms). The tree (and ornaments) in the dining room were my mother-in-laws, my girls put up a tree in the kitchen that they decorate, and my big tree (that I decorate) goes in the living room. It’s been gold the last few years – this year it’s more rustic. I’m reusing a few of my gold ornaments, but I’ve made (or revamped) the majority.

20131201-235347.jpg

I’m SO excited about these pine cone ornaments!! They didn’t cost me a dime (I had everything on hand) and I’m really into the natural theme this year.

We got the pine cones at a house not far from home. One day as the girls and I were driving, we noticed pine cones on the ground in a yard. We stopped and asked the homeowner if we could pick some up – he said “anytime” – saves him the trouble (so we cleaned the yard). We got a very large bag that day. Woo Hoo!!

20131202-000308.jpg

Here’s how to make them…

Materials:

Pine cones
Nail clippers (if you have prickley pine cones)
Natural jute (or other yarn or string)
Material (to make rosettes)
Glue gun & glue
Glitter glue

Instructions:

If your pine cones are pokey (like mine), remove the thorns with a pair of nail clippers.

20131203-215848.jpg
Cut about 10 inches of natural jute, fold in half and tie the ends together in a knot. Use a dab of hot glue to glue the knot to the top of the pine cone.

20131202-003419.jpg
I had a roll of natural jute on hand, but as you can see, with a 40% Hobby Lobby coupon it only costs a couple of dollars and it goes a VERY long way.

20131202-002620.jpg
Embellish however you like… I made rosettes using fabric that I had on hand (the cranberry color rosette was formerly a shirt & the canvas color was from another project – I purchase canvas at Harbor Freight – $7.49 for 4′ x 12′). For a few, I added some greenery (cut from some garland from years past).

20131201-235347.jpg

20131203-220547.jpg

20131201-235056.jpg

To add some sparkle, spread glitter glue on the ornament I find this method to be more efficient (and less messy) than the glue and glitter method.

Let it dry, hang on your tree, and stand back and admire.

20131203-220609.jpg

20131203-220631.jpg

20131203-220720.jpg

Hope you enjoy making your own…

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pine Cone Ornaments

  1. wonderful craftiness! I hope you had a lovely holiday. Hugs and happy new year wishes!

Leave a Reply

