Memory Wire Bracelets for Little Girls

20120717-211953.jpg

Isn’t this bracelet so sweet? These always sell well at craft fairs.

When my girls were little, I liked to have a pretty little bracelet on their wrists (and so did they). I used lobster clasps on the early bracelets, but In my safety conscious mind I worried about the clasp coming apart and the girls choking on the beads or the clasp coming open and the girls choking on the whole bracelet.

My solution was to use memory wire.

20120717-214951.jpg

I cut the memory wire coil using my wire cutters (they make special cutters for memory wire that cuts blunt, but I just use my regular cutters), leaving about 1/2 inch overlapping.

Using my round-nose pliers, I made a small loop at one end (bending the wire down).

20120717-214709.jpg

Next, I pick out some cute beads, and string them on the wire.

20120717-215221.jpg

Finish the other end by bending the wire down.

20120717-215401.jpg

20120717-215414.jpg

The bracelets are flexible and slip right over a little wrist (or a little bit bigger wrist). Both of my girls wore them as toddlers and wear them still (at 7 and 10).

20120717-215727.jpg

20120717-215739.jpg

20120717-215752.jpg

You can dress the bracelets up or personalize them by adding charms.

20120717-215938.jpg

I love these!! They are so dainty on a sweet little wrist.

There is no clasp to come undone, so the beads will stay on the bracelet. I’ve always heard that objects that fit through a paper towel tube are a choking hazard – and these don’t fit (however, always exercise caution with young children). The disadvantage is that small children can pull the bracelet off and it could be lost (and if you’re safety conscious like me, you will still worry about choking).

20120717-221327.jpg

It’s nice to be back. We’re finally well; I’m over my illness, and my daughter is recovering nicely from her tonsillectomy. I’ve missed creating and blogging!!

Do you have any other ideas for dressing the bracelets up?

Tammy

To see a list of the fabulous Linky Parties I may join, click here.

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Jewelry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memory Wire Bracelets for Little Girls

  1. I love these dainty bracelets. The memory wire is a great idea too. I’m really glad you’re back!

  2. So pretty :) Thanks for joining Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop.

Leave a Reply

