Zebra Print Cookie Cake

20120514-233745.jpg
Check out this cookie cake I made; definitely NOT professional but made with love.

My plan to post more about our Zebra Print Party in ‘the next several days’ stretched into much longer than several days. I had so much fun with it I still want to share.

I love to bake, although I’ve never gotten the hang of decorating cakes. I usually order bakery-made cakes for my Girls’ birthday parties. Thanks to my friend Leah who said “as crafty as you are, I can’t believe you don’t make your Girls’ cakes,” I decided to give it a try. I took that as a challenge…

20120514-234210.jpg
Ashton wanted a zebra print chocolate chip cookie cake. The cake was easy; I’ve always used the Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe. The recipe has never failed me (even when I lived in a high altitude) – I use the Semi-Sweet Mini Morsels for better distribution of the chocolate flavor. I made the cake in a pan I saved from a store-bought cookie cake (worked great).

The zebra stripes stumped me. I can paint zebra stripes on paper, canvas, wood, but frosting didn’t seem that straight forward to me (did I mention I don’t decorate cakes). I went to Michaels and browsed the cake decorating section sure I’d find some magic gadget that would do the trick. No magic gadget, but I found Wilton Sugar Sheets! The pack was $3.99 for one 8 x 10 sheet of ‘sugar paper’ (which was just enough for my cake). Sugar Sheets come in several colors and patterns, it’s just like card-stock, can be cut with scissors and paper punches, AND ITS EDIBLE!!

20120515-091942.jpg

After frosting the cookie with home-made white butter-cream frosting, I used kitchen scissors to cut the sheet of black sugar paper into zebra stripes, peeled off the plastic and pressed the stripes into the white frosting. I think it turned out pretty good, and the girls at Ashton’s party thought it was cool (YAY ME).

20120514-234504.jpg

Tammy

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

