DIY Zebra Print Decor – Wreath Tutorial.

20120507-183149.jpg

Isn’t this a sassy girls wreath? I literally threw this wreath together in minutes before Ashton’s party – she thought we needed more decorations in the living room. The original wreath was made with a boa discarded by my girls, a wood wreath-form I had around, a scrap of zebra print fabric and tulle by the spool.

I love the look so much I couldn’t help myself – I had to make more – I think these might sell well at a craft fair.

I’ve seen several posts on Pinterest showing a wreath form made with a pool noodle or pipe insulators, so I decided to give it a try. I used a pool noodle ($1 at the dollar store).

20120507-183443.jpg

The first time around I wrapped Duck Tape around the spot where the two ends of the noodle meet. I did that quickly before bed one night and a few nights later when I had time to work on the project again, I found the Duck Tape joint had failed.

Next, I wrapped a layer of Duck Tape around the whole noodle and made several wraps where the ends meet. Yay – that’s not coming apart. This also made it easier to shape the form into a circle (with just the ends taped, it really wanted to be an oval).

20120507-183843.jpg

I wrapped quilt batting around half the noodle that I secured with hot glue (not really sure why – I guess I wanted the top to be squishy).

20120507-184203.jpg

Then I wrapped 4″ wide strips of zebra print fabric around the whole circle, I tucked the edge under as I was wrapping so a frayed edge would not show, and secured with sewing pins and hot glue (I wrapped the whole circle with the fabric so if the boa ever shifted and showed part of the wreath form, you wouldn’t see silver Duck Tape – you could save some time by using zebra print Duck Tape).

20120507-184325.jpg

I wrapped the boa around half the wreath (leaving the squishy part at the top), and secured with hot glue. Then wrapped a double layer of tulle (by the spool) around the fabric, to add some pink with the zebra print. I made a ‘hanger’ from tulle, and voila – a super cute zebra print and pink wreath.

20120507-184424.jpg

Stay tuned for more! Don’t miss a post, follow my blog.

Tammy

I linked up to my first link party – check this out…

Tip Junkie handmade projects

And…you can click here to see other great linky parties I may join.

WOW us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DIY Zebra Print Decor – Wreath Tutorial.

  1. Belle says:

    Totally cute! I’d love for you to add it on my link party at: http://printabelle.com/?p=3717 Thanks!

    • Thanks so much Belle. I visted your blog (and subscribed); there are so many great things – I’ll spend the next few days exploring further. I’m definitely going to add this to your link party – I’ll be visiting regularly.

      Tammy

  2. Geri Johnson says:

    Cute wreath! I thought it was zebra print duct tape at first & the feathers kind of look like a ballerina’s tutu – so cute! I’m checking you out from “Wildly Original Round up” at I Gotta Create. If you get a chance check out my Sunflower Wreath at: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=3903374216259&set=a.3871155090801.2150445.1036342162&type=1&theater

  3. Fabulous! Decorations that come together quickly are certainly the best! Thanks so much for sharing on craft schooling Sunday!

  4. Christina at I Gotta Create! says:

    That’s a jazzy wreath!

  5. Christine says:

    Such a FUN wreath! Loving the zebra print!

    Thank you so very much sharing this at The DIY Dreamer.. From Dream To Reality!!

  6. What a smart and inexpensive way to use a pool noodle – as a wreath. The possibilities are endless aren’t they? The zebra fabric contrasted with the bright pink would look so cute in a girl’s room.

    Thanks for linking to Time Travel Thursday. Hope to see you each week.

    Blessings,
    Liz @ The Brambleberry Cottage

Leave a Reply

