Shrinky Dinks!!

20120105-222657.jpg

What more can I say? I love Shrinky Dinks! They are like magic; a sheet of plastic that shrinks to a fraction of the size when baked. I use the Frosted Ruff ‘N Ready; you can get a 10 pack of 8 x 10 sheets at Hobby Lobby for $6.99 (don’t forget to use your 40% off coupon). This year they saved my bacon for our Girl Scout Christmas party. (I used to have everything so well planned and together. This year, I seem to be the queen of procrastination.)

Each year, I get the Girls in my Girl Scout troop a Christmas ornament for the party and my children get some kind of little trinket for their ‘sister Scouts.’. On the day of the party, I realized that I had let my Girls pick out snowflakes to give, but I had not gotten anything for me to give. After a quick scan around the house, I found the answer; SHRINKY DINKS TO THE RESCUE!!

I cut the sheets of Shrinky Dinks in half, then in half again (they were about 4″ x 5″), used colored pencils to color a Christmas themed picture (on the rough side) and personalized for each of the 20 Girls. I punched a hole with a hole punch in the top, and baked at 325 degrees for 3 minutes (they turned out to be about 1 5/8″ x 2″). I threaded embroidery floss through the holes and like magic had 20 personalized Christmas ornaments. They were a hit!! I only wish I’d gotten a picture of each of them.

20120105-221910.jpg

20120105-221931.jpg

Here are some of my other Shrinky Dink projects:

Shrinky Dink Charms
20120105-223618.jpg
20120105-221952.jpg

I made the necklaces with zebra-stripe beads my daughter found at Hobby Lobby and had to have, then personalized them with a charm made with Shrinky Dinks.

Shrinky Dink Earrings

Of my recent Shrinky Dink projects, this is my favorite. Gotta show my support for Louisiana football!!

20120105-222255.jpg

20120105-222243.jpg

20120105-222109.jpg

20120105-222041.jpg

20120105-222029.jpg

Happy Shrinky Dinking!! Please share your Shrinky Dink projects.

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in For Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shrinky Dinks!!

  1. Dana L. says:

    Love Love Love these! They are so cute! You are so crazy creative. That’s just one of the reasons I love you!

Leave a Reply

