Jute-wrapped bottles

Here’s an upcycled project using bottles or jars and natural jute. You could substitute other forms of rope/yarn.

20120610-151800.jpg

Supplies:

Bottles or jars – I used a large Riesling wine bottle (18.5”), a large Arbor Mist wine bottle (13″), and a Crown Royal bottle (7.5″).

Tacky glue ($2.99 at Hobby Lobby) – less than ½ bottle did all of these.

Natural jute #48 ($18.99 less $7.60 with 40% off coupon = $11.39) –This roll of jute is HUGE (900 feet), so I will have to come up with more projects involving jute (I’d appreciate suggestions).

Wax paper

How to:

Use a small piece of wax paper under the base of the bottle. Start by cutting the jute at an angle, and glue towards the bottom of the bottle. I glue horizontally around the bottom of the first row of jute to be sure it holds; you may have to press on the first row of jute for several seconds to get a good hold. (sorry, I did not get a photo of this step). I started my jute at the bottom of the bottles and wrapped it tightly, pushing down every few rows so no glass showed through, but you may want to try different looks).

After the first row is started, glue vertically a few inches (up and down) all the way around the bottle, and start wrapping. Again, I push the jute down every few rows to get a tight look.

Placing glue vertically a few inches up the bottle makes wrapping the jute easier.

Finish the top of the bottle by cutting the Jute at an angle, and secure with tacky glue applied horizontally around the top.

Voila, you’ve upcycled glass bottles. These make great gifts!!

20120610-151908.jpg

20120610-151919.jpg

20120610-151932.jpg

20120610-151940.jpg

20120610-151948.jpg

About southernflaircrafts

I am a very busy wife and mother of two beautiful little girls. I work part-time in a flexible position as an Office Administrator for a financial advisory firm; I love the work I do and am especially grateful that it allows me to be a Mom first. I love to create!! Although I think my creativity was born with my first child, before children I would not have considered myself very creative. My mind is always wandering ahead to my next project, whether it's woodworking, sewing, paitning, or crafting with my kids. I also love blog-hopping (and blogging - I'm learning as I go); sometimes I see things I know I have got to make or I see a great creation and am insprired with ideas of my own. I especially like projects that rescue some treasure that would otherwise become another victim of the landfill.
This entry was posted in Upcycled & Recycled and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jute-wrapped bottles

  1. Dee Hunt says:

    Those are nice, the girls could make those for gifts, they would look nice with flowers in them or even jewels on the outside. Thanks for sharing. love and prayers, Dee

  2. Pingback: Upcycled Kleenex Box | Southernflaircrafts's Blog

  3. Pingback: 4th of July Table Decor |

  4. Jamie B says:

    Your jute wrapped bottles are gorgeous! I mean they look like they were picked up at a fancy, expensive boutique somewhere. I hope it’s okay, I just finished a frugal crafts round-up and just couldn’t resist featuring your fabulous jute covered bottles. You can see it here:
    http://jamiebrock.hubpages.com/hub/Frugal-Crafts-15-Easy-Craft-Ideas
    Thank you so much for sharing this!

  5. These are totally amazing too. I love your recycling ideas.

Leave a Reply

